Get to know Shannon…


We had a chat with Shannon to find out what makes him tick.

Q: What is your favourite way to start the day?
Coffee, shower and a nice bit of music!

Q: When we can travel again, where would your next holiday destination be?
I would love to say Thailand but now I’m a father of two, it’ll be more like Peppa Pig world!

Q: What is your favourite beverage on a hot summer’s day?
A pint of beer (or two 😊).

Q: Who do you admire and why?
Probably my mum, too many reasons to say but mainly for her strength and generosity! Very proud of her!

Q: What is your proudest achievement?
Being a father to my two boys, that might change when they hit their teens though!

Q: What is your favourite way to unwind?
I do like a good game of football, usually with a group of mates, nothing too serious!

Q: When people come to you for help, what do they usually want help with?
Career advice would be the main one due to the nature of my work, which I get a lot of enjoyment out of!

Q: Have you ever had a nickname, if so, what is it and why?
Some friends call me Rico as it’s my middle name and Sheriff (which is a long story!)

Q: What is the best gift you have ever received?
On my birthday I went on a surprise trip to Leeds to watch a game with the wife, it was a great weekend and definitely up there! Even though we drew!

Q: Aside from necessities, what one thing could you not go a day without?
This is going to sound really bad but probably my phone!! It’s crazy how dependent we are on these things and I actually hate to admit it!

Q: List two pet peeves of yours.
1. Coat hangers – for some reason they really stress me out when they get tangled (random I know!)
2. Bullying – never nice to hear about

Q: What would you do if you won the lottery?
Probably buy property and sort the family out, especially my mum, sister and niece.

Q: How did you stay motivated during lockdown?
The kids did that for me really, they definitely kept me on my toes!

Q: What is your claim to fame?
I was a roulette spinner on Channel 5 and on Super Casino for 9 years doing part time evening work! It was a nice little side earner in addition to my day job in recruitment! 😊

Q: If you had a warning label, what would yours say?
Accident prone, approach with caution!

Q: What hobby would you get into if time and money were not an issue?
Music producing/ DJing, something I wish I got into when I was younger to be honest!

Q: If you could move to any city, which would it be?
For a place I have already been to it would probably be Perth in Australia, as lived there for a few months when travelling. Somewhere I haven’t been to, Rio De Janerio, Brazil! Still on the bucket list for a holiday though.

Q: What is your favourite thing about working at Alexander Daniels?
The enjoyment and buzz I still get when finding someone that perfect job! Which happens often here at AD! 😊

Q: What would you like to accomplish in the next 5 years?
Just to be the best dad I can be to my son’s really and keeping the wife happy (which in turn gives me a happy life 😉)

Q: What are three interesting facts about you?
1. I used to always end up in hospital when going on holiday (I could have made a ‘Hospital advisor’ book to be fair!)
2. I call myself ‘Scrirish’ due to being half Scottish and half Irish
3. I’m a big fan of Asian food, especially Thai food!